The jury of the Human Rights Tulip 2015

The jury for the Human Rights Tulip 2015 consists of five human rights experts from all over the world. The chair of the jury is Margaret Sekaggya, a Ugandan lawyer and former UN Special Rapporteur on the Situation of Human Rights Defenders.

The other members are Ales Bialiatski (from Belarus), Shahzad Ahmad (from Pakistan), Nicola Jägers (from the Netherlands) and Amira Yahyaoui (from Tunisia).

Margaret Sekaggya is a Ugandan lawyer, who was appointed Judge of the High Court of Uganda in 1995. She held the position of Chairperson of the Uganda Human Rights Commission from its establishment in 1996 until 2008. More recently, she was the United Nations Special Rapporteur on the Situation of Human Rights Defenders from 2008-2014. Additionally, she has a distinguished academic career in which she was a lecturer at the UN Institute for Namibia from 1982-1990 and has published articles on constitutional issues and human rights. She is the founder and current Executive Director of the Human Rights Centre Uganda, founded in 2008, to build the capacity of human rights defenders in Uganda.

Shahzad Ahmad is one of the main voices in the fight against online censorship in Pakistan. He is the Country Director of Bytes for All and in that capacity he has campaigned against internet censorship in his home country since 2007. The organization also tackles gender-based violence driven by technology and puts technology to use for community development and environmental conservation. He is a member of the International Advisory Board of Privacy International, UK. Additionally, he has contributed to researches on privacy rights and online freedom of expression.

Ales Bialiatski is a distinguished human rights defender from Belarus. He became involved in anti-Soviet protests in the 1980s and founded the Viasna Human Rights Center in 1996, which provides financial and legal assistance to political prisoners and their families. In November 2011, he was sentenced to four and a half years imprisonment, and was freed under an amnesty in June 2014. Following his arrest in 2011, Amnesty International declared Bialiatski a prisoner of conscience. He is currently the head of Viasna and holds the position of vice-president of the International Federation for Human Rights.

Nicola Jägers is a dutch professor International Human Rights Law at Tilburg University and a Commissioner at the Netherlands Institute for Human Rights. One of the focus areas of her research has been the relationship between globalization of the economy and the realization of human rights. She was one of the first to do research on the corporate responsibility of multinational co-operations for human rights violations and published her book ‘Corporate Human Rights Obligations: In Search of Accountability’ (Intersentia) in 2002. Additionally, she is the executive editor of The Netherlands Quarterly of Human Rights.

Amira Yahyaoui is a Tunisian blogger and activist and was an outspoken opponent of former President Ben Ali’s regime. She had her passport revoked in 2005 for her activism and returned to Tunisia following the country’s revolution in 2011. Upon her return, she founded Al Bawsala, an NGO that monitors the work of the Tunisian Parliament, the Constitutional Assembly and Tunisian city halls. Its aim is to make information accessible to citizens. In 2013, she was named one of the 100 most powerful Arab women by the Arabian Business Magazine.