The final six candidates for Human Rights Tulip

The six final candidates for the Human Rights Tulip 2014 have been decided on. The international jury headed by the former UN Special Rapporteur on Freedom of Expression, Frank La Rue, will now go to work to assess the nominations and advise the minister of Foreign Affairs.

The Human Rights Tulip.

The three public favourites after two weeks of voting via are: YASunidos (Ecuador), Chidi Odinkalu (Nigeria) and Euromaidan SOS (Ukraine). No less than 60,000 times votes were cast on a total of 30 nominees. That is a new record for the public voting for the Human Rights Tulip.

Besides the public favourites, three wildcards have been awarded. These went to the International Campaign for Human Rights in Iran (ICHRI), Elena Klimova (Russia) and Mideast Youth.

The jury will advise the minister of Foreign Affairs about the candidates. Next to chairman Frank La Rue the jury consists of Professor Barbara Oomen, the Kenyan writer and activist Binyavanga Wainaina , the Georgian lawyer Tamar Chugoshvili and Pakistani activist Shahzad Ahmad. The minister chooses the winner.

The Human Rights Tulip is an annual award for human rights defenders working in innovative ways. On 9 December the winner will receive a bronze statue and a prize of 100,000 euros from the minister.