The final six candidates for the Human Rights Tulip 2015

The six final candidates for the Human Rights Tulip 2015 have been selected. The international jury headed by the former UN Special Rapporteur on the situation of Human Rights Defenders, Margaret Sekaggya, will now go to work to assess the nominations.

The three public favourites after 1 week of voting via are: Phyoe Phyoe Aung (Burma/Myanmar), Maziar Bahari (Iran) and Azizullah Royesh (Afghanistan). No less than 108,000 votes were cast.

Besides the public favourites, three wildcards have been awarded by Hivos (the NGO partner) and the human rights department of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. They have been selected on the basis of the quality of their work, considering a regional and thematic balance for the final six nominees. The wild cards went to IRA-Mauritania (Mauritaniëa), B’Tselem (Israel) and GENDERDOC-M (Moldova).

The jury will advise the minister of Foreign Affairs on these six candidates. He will then choose the winner.

Next to Margaret Sekaggya, the jury consists of Ales Bialiatski (Belarus), Shahzad Ahmad (Pakistan), professor Nicola Jägers (the Netherlands) and Amira Yahyaoui (Tunisia).